What Foods Contain The Newly Banned Red Dye 3?

Did you know The Food and Drug Administration is ordering food and drug makers to remove a dye called Red 3 from the products U.S. consumers eat and drink? Decades ago, a study revealed that the colorant causes cancer, leading to its prohibition from non-oral drugs and cosmetics. But because it was still deemed safe for use, it continued to show up on the ingredient lists of well-known snack foods and other grocery items. So, what goods include Red Dye 3, then?

1. Candy

@Reddit

We are talking about especially seasonal candies, such as candy corn and dyed marshmallows. Brach’s candy corn, Valentine’s Day candy, including Brach’s iconic conversation hearts and the Favorite Day Cupid gummy box, Pez, and Ring Pops are among some of them.


2. Cakes And Cupcake Frostings

@Reddit

Frosting found on cupcakes and other cakes, like Target’s Favorite Day Valentine’s Day cupcakes, can be dangerous, too.


3. Frozen Desserts

@Reddit

Some examples may be ice pops and ice creams with strawberry flavoring. Certain brands and flavors of ice cream, including Safeway’s Select peppermint ice cream and Kroger Neapolitan ice cream, are among some of the foods that might contain Red Dye 3.


4. Maraschino Cherries

@Reddit

Many maraschino cherry brands, including store brands from Walmart and Kroger, have switched to Red 40. But Kroger Extra Cherry canned fruit cocktail contains this dangerous dye.


5. Fruit Cocktails

@Reddit

Fruit cocktails like canned fruits in fruit juice, including mixed fruit from Publix, might contain this alarming dye.


6. Colored Beverages

@Reddit

Ensure Original Strawberry Nutrition Shake contains Red 3. But many beverage brands use Red 40, including Hawaiian Punch and Kool-Aid, Fanta and Jarritos strawberry sodas and Faygo black cherry soda.


7. Protein Shakes

@Reddit

Protein shakes are drinks made with protein powder. They come in a variety of flavors, but be careful with the ones that contain Red Dye 3.


8. Vegetarian Meats

@Reddit

Soy, legumes (such as chickpeas, lentils, and peas), grain proteins (such as gluten from rice, oats, barley, or wheat), colorings (such as cumin, carotene, lycopene, and beetroot juice), and flavorings (such as spices, herbs, yeast extract, paprika, sugar, and mushrooms) are the most often found ingredients in plant-based meat substitutes. Just make sure that they do not contain Red Dye 3.


9. Bacon Bits

@Reddit

Imitation bacon bits, including those found in Betty Crocker pasta salads are among some of the foods that can consist of this dye.


10. Sausages

@Reddit

Rarely are sausages made entirely of meat. Sausage recipes frequently include colorings, binders, spices, and non-meat additives. For example, until the 1970s, red coloring was common in hot dogs, and certain regional American brands continue to use it now.


11. Strawberry Milk

@Reddit

Nesquik strawberry-flavored low-fat milk. ice cream, frozen yogurt, and popsicles. TruMoo Strawberry Whole Milk contains Red 3. But Edy’s Strawberry Ice Cream and Popsicle-brand fruit pops both use beet juice for coloring.


12. Puddings

@Reddit

Make sure you read this product’s label just to know if it contains Red Dye 3.


13. Cookies

@Reddit

Cookies with red sprinkles, such as Walmart’s Freshness Guaranteed heart sugar cookies and frosted circus animal cookies, are among the foods we need to keep an eye on.


14. Cheddar Sticks

@Reddit

Cheddar cheese, which is typically manufactured from pasteurized milk, salt, enzymes, and cheese culture, is used to make cheddar cheese sticks. Other components like annatto, a vegetable color, might also be present. Jack Link’s beef and cheddar sticks are known to contain this dye.


15. Vigo Yellow Rice

@Reddit

Make sure you avoid this food since it contains the newly banned dye.